Skip links and keyboard navigation

Live streaming council meetings


To notify local governments of the new live audio/visual meeting requirements for councils with a population greater than 100,000.


Local government meetings are governed by the City of Brisbane (Operations) Regulation 2010 (CBOR) and the Local Government (Operations) Regulation 2010 (LGOR). The regulations cover matters such as frequency, place, notice of meetings, minute taking, closed meetings, teleconferencing, quorum and other high level procedural matters such as majority decision making and open voting.

Which councils are affected and what are the new obligations?

This regulation adds to the general meeting requirements and imposes obligations to broadcast ordinary meetings. All councils with a population greater than 100,000 will be required to broadcast both the audio and visual of ordinary council meetings via the internet.

Councils affected by this policy are Brisbane City, Cairns Regional, Fraser Coast Regional, Gold Coast City, Ipswich City, Logan City, Mackay Regional, Moreton Bay Regional, Redland City, Rockhampton Regional, Sunshine Coast Regional, Toowoomba Regional and Townsville City councils.

Brisbane City Council will be required to begin streaming its ordinary meetings on 1 July 2012 and the other 12 councils will need to commence broadcast of their ordinary meetings on 1 January 2013.

Recordings of meetings will be required to be made available to the public via internet and must be available for a period of four years.

The regulation amendments are designed to increase community access to and participation in the democratic processes of councils and are intended to result in increased integrity, transparency and accountability in council meetings.