Skip links and keyboard navigation

The Cape York Regional Plan creates strategic, long-term land use certainty, particularly in relation to areas that are appropriate for economic development opportunities and those that are set aside for environmental protection.

The region has outstanding natural areas of high conservation value, a diverse and rich Indigenous heritage together with a wealth of natural assets, particularly mineral resources. Enabling sustainable economic development opportunities in the region balanced with the protection of the Cape's natural areas is a key priority of the Queensland Government.

The Cape York Regional Plan (PDF icon 3.0 MB) was made on 8 August 2014 and publicly notified by Gazette (PDF icon 68 KB) on 15 August 2014.

The region includes the eleven local government areas of:

  • Aurukun
  • Cook
  • Hope Vale
  • Kowanyama
  • Lockhart River
  • Mapoon
  • Napranum
  • Northern Peninsula Area
  • Pormpuraaw
  • Weipa Town Area
  • Wujal Wujal.

The Queensland Government recognises that local governments are best placed to undertake local planning. Consequently, the plan does not respond to all matters in the region, but plays a focussed role in resolving competing state interests on a regional scale.

The Cape York Regional Plan has been prepared to facilitate appropriate economic development in the region and identifies strategic land-use classifications to manage competing economic and environmental state interests in the region. These classifications include Strategic Environmental Areas, National Parks, Priority Agricultural Areas and Priority Living Areas.

Maps of the land-use classifications for the Cape York region are available online.

The regional plan includes an annual amendment process that provides local governments and Indigenous communities with an opportunity to make recommendations about the most appropriate land use designation for areas on the Cape, based on the significance of environmental and cultural values and preferred economic opportunities.

This ongoing review enables Cape communities to plan for their needs, to shape their future and to reflect their economic aspirations. Cape York communities and local governments will lead the preliminary consultation process with traditional owner groups through the Regional Planning Committee to amend the Cape York Regional Plan.

Areas of regional interest mapped in the Cape York Regional Plan include Strategic Environmental Areas, Priority Agricultural Areas and Priority Living Areas.

For more information, please contact the Department.

Light bulb

On 3 July 2017, Queensland started operating under new planning legislation – the Planning Act 2016. Information on this page relates to the previous legislation – the Sustainable Planning Act 2009. Learn more about the new planning system.