Skip links and keyboard navigation

As the economic, social and cultural hub of Queensland, South East Queensland (SEQ) has been subject to sustained high levels of growth since the early 2000s. While this growth has significantly altered the region, the state government has been successful in harnessing the opportunities it has provided to enhance SEQ's liveability and prosperity, through utilising effective growth management tools and frameworks such as the South East Queensland Regional Plan (SEQRP).

The first statutory regional plan for SEQ came into effect in 2005, and the current regional plan (the South East Queensland Regional Plan 2009-2031 (PDF icon 3.5 MB) refined and modified the strategic directions, principles and policies of the first statutory plan, in response to changing circumstances and revised population forecasts.

The review of the current South East Queensland Regional Plan (SEQRP) is now underway in response to the region's changing population in both size and demographics. The revised SEQRP will set policy directions and targets to address this shift, including creating a region which is well-designed with communities that provide a diverse range of affordable living. The plan will also seek to boost jobs growth across the region, in the industries of the future. The new SEQRP will drive for a region that is smart, sustainable, compact, connected, safe and healthy for now and into the future.

In line with the state government's focus on ensuring genuine public participation, transparency and engagement in the planning process, the state government will commence formal statutory public notification and community consultation on the draft plan from October 2016 to February 2017. You can see what people had to say in the first round of community conversations and keep up to date by visiting the Shaping SEQ website or join our mailing list at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The South East Queensland Regional Planning Committee plays a key role in advising the Minister on the preparation of the regional plan for the region. The committee will meet at key stages throughout the regional planning process. It is chaired by the Deputy Premier (in her role as Minister for Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning), and includes another six ministers and the mayors from each local government area in the region.

The South East Queensland Regional Planning Committee met on three occasions in 2015 and this year on 20 April 2016 and 21 June 2016.

The South East Queensland Regional Plan includes the local government areas of:

  • Brisbane City Council
  • City of Gold Coast Council
  • Ipswich City Council
  • Lockyer Valley Regional Council
  • Logan City Council
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • Noosa Shire Council
  • Redland City Council
  • Scenic Rim Council
  • Somerset Regional Council
  • Sunshine Coast Council
  • Toowoomba Regional Council (part only).

For more information please contact the department.

Light bulb

Did you know Queensland has new planning legislation that will commence in mid-2017? Learn more about it.